Maharashtra Boys and SAI Girls lift the 30th Sub Junior National Kabaddi Championship Trophy

Jananayak Karpuri Thakur 30th National Sub-Junior Kabaddi title clinched by SAI and Maharashtra, Bihar third place.

Patna, January 24. in the indoor halls of Pataliputra Sports Complex Kankarbagh, today, Maharashtra boys and SAI girls has won the Jananayak Karpuri Thakur 30th National Sub-Junior Kabaddi Championship.

Championship was hosted by Bihar State Kabaddi Association under the banner of the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India, host Bihar got the third position in both the categories.

Sub Junior Kabaddi Championship

In the final today (boys), Maharashtra defeated Haryana in a close encounter where the match was decided in the last minute with final score 37-36 on the board. In contrast, the final match in the girls category was completely one sided, SAI defeated Delhi 59-22.

The final match between Maharashtra and Haryana was absolute thriller. Both the teams gave tough fight to each other. Maharashtra scored ten bonus points while Haryana could just score one bonus point. In the halftime, Haryana was leading by 3 points with 18-15 score on board.

In the second half Maharashtra made a come-back, from Maharashtra, Rahul Baghmare, Shabbir Sheikh, Deepak Kevat, Pranav Indulkar, Krishna Chauhan, while Ajay Chokar, Sansar, Somveer Kumar, Anurag and Sanju from Haryana performance was brilliant. 

In the girls team, final was held between SAI and Delhi. In this match, SAI strong line-up of  players like Neeru Dahiya, Anshul, Akarshit, Anu, Antima Togadia, outplayed Delhi. At the stroke of half time SAI was leading by Massive 21 points with 25-4 score on the board. In the second half, Delhi's Jyotika, Tanu, and Payal tried, but failed to recover against the massive lead by SAI. Finally, with 59-22 score on board SAI registered a comfortable win.

In the first semifinal of the boys team, Haryana beat Bihar 34-21 and in the second semifinal, Maharashtra beat Karnataka by 43-16. In the first semi-final in the girls' team, SAI defeated Bihar 60-26 and Delhi defeated Tamil Nadu by 29-22.

In the ceremony organized after the match, the Chief Guest, Bihar State Sports Authority Director General Dinesh Singh Vishta (IPS) and Special Guest Sunil Chaudhary (MLA) rewarded the winners, runners-up and third-place winning team. At the function, Bihar State Kabaddi Sangha secretary, Kumar Vijay congratulated the Chief Guest and the special guest by giving shawl and bouquets and memento.

Best player of the Championship - Anupriya (SAI) 
Best Raiders for two players: Sheetal (Bihar) and Jyotika (Delhi).

Best Player of the Championship - Govind (Haryana)
Best Defender - Somveer (Haryana)
Best Raider - Kushan Chauhan (Maharashtra)

Latest News

Sports Authority Of India
SAI Hyderabad to hold selection trials for Kabaddi
TN Kabadddi, Karur
Salem outplays Cuddalore to win the Tamil Nadu Men's Kabaddi Championships
Kabaddi in India
Senior National Kabaddi Championships 2020 dates announced
Khelo India
Khelo India Youth Games 2020: Haryana win gold in all four categories of Kabaddi
Khelo India Kabaddi1
Khelo India Youth Games 2020: Kabaddi Final Schedule, Preview, when & where to watch, and live stream details
Khelo India
Khelo India Youth Games 2020: Kabaddi Schedule for Semifinals, Preview, when & where to watch, and live stream details