Kabaddi Adda

Railways and CISF to play the finals of Deendayal Trophy Season 3

Sonipat Panthers gave a tough fight to the Indian Railways team in the semi-finals of the Deendayal Trophy Season 3. The Railways, however, emerged as the winners as they managed to win the match 40-33. Railways will face CISF in the finals after the latter won their semifinal match against Kerala SAI 36-24.

Railways vs Sonipat Panthers Semifinals
A still from Railways vs Sonipat Panthers Semifinals match

Railways were trailing on the scoreboard for most of the time during their semifinal against the Panthers. As the match started, Panthers too k an early lead in the match as Railways tried to catch them. Panthers had taken a 17-13 lead in the match at half-time, putting the star studded Railways team under pressure.

Get the Indian Railways vs Sonipat Panthers Kabaddi Match Commentary

It was again the game of cat and mouse as Panthers going ahead and Railways trying to catch them. In the finals minutes of the game, Railways made a comeback and reduced the points difference to just one point at 33-32. They tackled Panthers' first raider Sumith Gulia and inflicted an all out on them to take the lead for the first time in the match.

Shrikant Jadhav's one point after that increased their lead, which never went back to Sonipat.  Railways got five back to back points after that till the end of the final whistle. Mohit Jakhar was the highest point scorer for Sonipat as he went on to pick six raid points and one tackle point. Ajay Tomar got four tackle points to his name, as Rohith Gulia, Monu Kadian and Sahil Baliyan picked up three each. 

For Railways, Rohit Gulia got eight raid points, while Vikash Khandola picked up seven. Coming in as a substitute, Nitin Rawal picked up four raid as well as four tackle points to turn the game in the favour of Railways. 

A sill from CISF vs Kerala SAI match
A sill from CISF vs Kerala SAI match

CISF had a rather easier win against Kerala SAI in the first semifinal of the day. While Kerala SAI took an early lead in the match, CISF managed to overtake them before the halftime. They were leading 14-12 at the end of the first half. CISF then sailed towards the finish line as Kerala SAI never managed to come close to them, losing the match by a margin of eight points. 

{"preview_thumbnail":"/sites/default/files/styles/video_embed_wysiwyg_preview/public/video_thumbnails/X5Wrt2Sp8mY.jpg","video_url":"https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5Wrt2Sp8mY","settings":{"responsive":1,"width":"854","height":"480","autoplay":1},"settings_summary":["Embedded Video (Responsive, autoplaying)."]}

Ajay Kumar was the hero for CISF as he picked up 11 raid points. He was very well supported by his defender Ishwar Singh who managed to get six tackle points in the match.

The women's side will see Indian Railways play against the Kerala Queens. In the round-robin format, Indian Railways won all their matches against all their opponents. On the last day of the league format, they registered a 34-10 win against the CISF women's team. Railways' last match against Delhi Janices was abandoned.

A stilll from women's semifinal match
A stilll from women's semifinal match

Kerala Queens were handed a 48-53 defeat in their last league match but still managed to reach the finals, thanks to their huge win against CISF on the first day of the tournament. 

In the men's finals, CISF and Railways will be playing against each other in the Kerala Kabaddi League Season 3 on 29th December at 7:00 PM (IST). The matches are taking place at Peerangi Maithanam, Kollam.

Stay tuned to Kabaddi Adda for Deendaya Trophy Schedule, Deendaya Trophy Results, Deendaya Trophy Live Score, Kabaddi Live Score and Latest News.