Kabaddi Adda

AKFI appoints coaches for the Indian national Kabaddi teams

Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI) appointed new coaches for the Indian national men's and women's kabaddi teams. The appointment was made after applications were invited by AKFI for the positions. After scrutinizing the applications, a team of three coaches each for the men's and women's national team was finalised by the selectors.

Indian Men's National Team Coaches:

1. Mr. Balwan Singh 

2. Mr. Ashan Kumar

3. Mr. Jaivir Sharma

Indian Women's National Team Coaches:

1. Ms. Sunil Dabas

2. Ms. Shailaja Jain

3. Ms. Banani Saha

Balwan Singh
Balwan Singh (Credits - Pro Kabaddi)

Balwan Singh, a former Kabaddi player himself, was the coach of the Indian men's team and Pro Kabaddi team Jaipur Pink Panthers. He was conferred with Dronacharya Award by the Government of India and had guided the Indian team to gold medal victories at the 204 Kabaddi World Cup and Asian Kabaddi Championship in 2005.

Ashan Kumar
Ashan Kumar

Ashan Kumar was the coach for the South Korean Kabaddi team during the 2018 Asian Games and the PKL team Puneri Paltan. He was awarded Arjun Award and was also the captain of the Indian Kabaddi team that wn a gold at the 1990 Asian Games.

Sunil Dabas, the first female kabaddi coach to win a Dronacharya Award, was the coach of the Indian women's kabaddi team that won the Asian Games gold in 2010 and 2012 Women's Kabaddi World Cup. Shailaja Jain is one of the most famous female kabaddi coaches and was the coach of the Iranian women's Kabaddi team that defeated India to win the gold at the 2018 Asian Games.