Kabaddi Adda

Unveiling the Most Successful PKL Coaches

The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) has captivated audiences with its electrifying raids, fantastic defence, nail-biting finishes, and displays of exceptional athleticism. While the spotlight often shines brightly on the players gracing the mat, the role of the head coach cannot be understated. These strategic minds play a crucial role in shaping a team's performance and guiding them towards championship glory. Let's take a look into the PKL record books to reveal the most successful coaches who have etched their names in history by leading their teams to ultimate victory.

BC Ramesh

At the helm of title triumphs stands BC Ramesh, the most decorated coach in PKL history. His journey began with the Bengaluru Bulls, where he served as the assistant coach and played a vital role in their championship win. However, Ramesh's true coaching prowess shone through when he donned the head coach hat for the Bengal Warriors, leading them to their first PKL title. This remarkable feat was further surpassed in PKL 10, where he took Puneri Paltan to a historic first-ever championship victory.


Ram Meher Singh

Ram Meher Singh has a special connection with the Patna Pirates, having steered them to championship glory twice. Under his guidance, the Pirates emerged victorious in PKL 3, defeating their opponents U Mumba in a nail-biting 31-28 encounter. In season 5, Singh staged another triumph, leading the Pirates to a title win with a dominating performance against the Gujarat Giants.

Coaches with Single Title

While the list of coaches with multiple titles is short, several other individuals have made their mark by leading their teams to a single PKL championship victory. Sanjeev Kumar Baaliyan, the mastermind behind the Jaipur Pink Panthers' triumph in PKL 9, deserves recognition for his strategic brilliance. Kasinathan Baskaran, etched in history as the first coach to win the PKL title with the Jaipur Pink Panthers in the inaugural season, deserves a nod for his pioneering contribution.


The list continues with Edachery Bhaskaran, who led U Mumba to victory against the Bengaluru Bulls, further adding to the diverse group of coaches who have tasted PKL success. Arjun Singh, Randhir Singh Sehrawat, and Krishan Kumar Hooda also join this prestigious group, having led the Patna Pirates, Bengaluru Bulls, and Dabang Delhi KC to their first and only PKL titles, respectively.

These coaches represent the strategic backbone of the PKL. Their meticulous planning, player selection, and on-field guidance are instrumental in shaping a team's identity and propelling them towards championship glory. While the players take center stage during the game, the coaches' contributions remain a constant force, silently working behind the scenes to direct the symphony of success that resonates throughout the Pro Kabaddi League.