Day 1 Results of the 2020 Senior National Kabaddi Championships

The 67th edition of the Senior National Kabaddi Championships got underway on 2nd of March 2020. The first day of the tournament saw Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot inaugurate the tournament followed by league matches being played. 

On the first day, a total of nine matches were played in the men's division. While most of the results were not surprising, what came as a shock that Haryana men's team was handed a loss by Tamil Nadu. Pardeep Narwal, the highest points scorer in the Pro Kabaddi, managed to score only five points from his 14 raids. Haryana will have to win both their league matches to move to the next round. 

Read how Tamil Nadu defeated Haryana in their opening encounter

In other matches, Group C saw Maharashtra thrashing Jammu & Kashmir 47-24 to start their campaign with a win. Ajay Thakur led Himachal Pradesh also got better of the Manipur men's team as they won the match 52-23. The host team of Rajasthan also opened the tournament with a win as they defeated West Bengal State Unit 57-11. Services, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand also won their respective matches of the day.

Get the full match report about Indian Railways Women vs Maharashtra Women encounter

In the women's category, the strong team of Haryana defeated Gujarat 54-23 in Group B encounter. The Indian Railways women's team were up against a strong team of Maharashtra and faced a difficult time picking up the points. Indian Railways women won an exciting thriller match 33-32, picking up the winning points in the last couple of raids. 

Here is the list of Results from Day 1 of Senior National Kabaddi Championships:

Men's Results

Match 1: Rajasthan vs West Bengal State Unit (Group G): 57-11

Match 2: Gujarat vs Jharkhand (Group A): 39-10

Match 3: Services vs Kerala (Court Order) (Group B): 51-33

Match 4: Maharashtra vs Jammu & Kashmir (Group C): 47-24

Match 5: Haryana vs Tamil Nadu (Group D): 31-37

Match 6: Uttar Pradesh vs Vidarbha (Group E): 55-15

Match 7: Karnataka vs Madhya Pradesh (Group F): 42-27

Match 8: Uttarakhand vs Odisha (Group G): 45-23

Match 9: Himachal Pradesh vs Manipur (Group C): 52-23

Women's Results

Match 1: Rajasthan vs Karnataka (Group F): 49-12

Match 2: Delhi vs Madhya Pradesh (Group G): 33-15

Match 3: Punjab vs Kerala (Court Order) (Group H): 30-20

Match 4: Indian Railways vs Maharashtra (Group A): 33-32

Match 5: Haryana vs Gujarat (Group B): 54-23

Match 6: Himachal Pradesh vs Pondhicherry (Group D): 70-10

Latest News

Pankaj Mohite
Ghar Se Panga: Pankaj Mohite distributes food to locals during lockdown
Nitin Tomar and Family
Kabaddi stars take part in PM's #9Baje9Minute campaign
Ajay Thakur
Ghar Se Panga: PM Narendra Modi interacts with Ajay Thakur amid COVID-19 pandemic
Anup Kumar (Pic Courtesy - Puneri Paltan)
Ghar Se Panga: Kabaddi legend Anup Kumar shares a message for his fans
Rahul Chaudhari (courtesy - Oakridge International School @learnois)
Ghar Se Panga: Rahul Chaudhari spends time training with his nephew in lockdown
Surender NAda
Ghar Se Panga: Surender Nada tells us how he is spending his lockdown