Kabaddi Adda

A Glance at Pro Kabaddi League Most Valuable Players Through the Years

Pro Kabaddi League, the exhilarating and action-packed kabaddi tournament, has witnessed some remarkable talents who have shined brightly as the Most Valuable Players (MVPs) across different seasons. From seasoned veterans to young prodigies, these players have left an indelible mark on the league with their stellar performances, clutch raids, and brilliant tackles. Let's take a journey through the Pro Kabaddi seasons and explore the MVPs who have set the mat ablaze with their unmatched skills and determination.


Season 1 MVP: Anup Kumar
The inaugural season of Pro Kabaddi witnessed Anup Kumar, the first captain of U Mumba, rise as the standout performer and claim the coveted MVP title. With an impressive tally of 169 points, Anup Kumar's prowess on the mat was a force to be reckoned with. His 155 raid points in Season 1 set a record for the most points by any raider across the first four seasons, a record eventually broken by Pardeep Narwal in Season 5. Although U Mumba reached the final, they faced defeat against Jaipur Pink Panthers in a riveting showdown.

Season 2 MVP: Manjeet Chhillar
Season 2 saw the emergence of the versatile all-rounder, Manjeet Chhillar, who showcased exceptional skills with the Bengaluru Bulls. With a total of 107 points, consisting of 67 raid points and 40 tackle points, Manjeet became the first player in Pro Kabaddi history to feature in the top 10 lists for both best raiders and defenders in a single edition. Despite battling health issues, Manjeet was the driving force behind the Bengaluru Bulls' journey to the PKL final, where he displayed a scintillating performance but ended up on the losing side.

Season 3 MVP: Rohit Kumar
The first MVP winner from a PKL-winning team, Rohit Kumar led Patna Pirates to victory in Season 3. Known for his ruthless attacking and impeccable flexibility on the mat, Rohit notched up 102 raid points in just 12 matches, averaging an impressive 8.5 raid points per match. This stellar performance led to his well-deserved MVP award, and he has continued to be a formidable force in every PKL season since his debut.

Season 4 MVP: Pardeep Narwal
Season 4 marked the arrival of the prolific raider, Pardeep Narwal, who made a significant impact with the Patna Pirates. With 133 points to his name, Pardeep's highlight was the development of his signature move 'Dubki,' and he secured five Super 10s and three Super Raids in 16 matches, guiding Patna Pirates to their second successive final.

Season 5 MVP: Pardeep Narwal (Record-Breaking MVP)
Pardeep Narwal created history in Season 5, breaking multiple records and setting the league ablaze with his phenomenal performances. He surpassed Anup Kumar's record for most raid points in a single campaign and went on to accumulate a staggering 369 points in the season, which remains the record for the most total points in a PKL season. His 271 successful raids and 18 super raids further solidified his dominance, making him the undisputed MVP of the season.

Season 6 MVP: Pawan Sehrawat
In Season 6, Pawan Sehrawat etched his name into Pro Kabaddi history with a memorable display of resilience and skill. Spearheading Bengaluru Bulls' comeback in the final against the Gujarat Giants, Pawan's spectacular second-half performance turned the tide in his team's favour, earning him 22 points - the highest by any kabaddi player in a PKL final. With 271 raid points and the most Super Raids (12) in the season, Pawan rightfully earned the MVP award.

Season 7 MVP: Naveen Kumar
Following an impressive debut season with Dabang Delhi K.C. in Season 6, Naveen Kumar continued his brilliant form in Season 7, amassing an astonishing 303 points in 23 matches. Breaking records left and right, Naveen registered 22 Super 10s, surpassing Pardeep Narwal's previous record, and averaged a remarkable 13.08 raid points per game, becoming the youngest player to score 300 raid points in a single Pro Kabaddi season.

Season 8 MVP: Naveen Kumar (Double MVP)
Season 8 witnessed Naveen Kumar's exceptional talent as he became only the second player after Pardeep Narwal to win the MVP award twice. Leading Dabang Delhi K.C. to their maiden Pro Kabaddi title, Naveen's 207 raid points across 17 matches played a crucial role in their success. His incredible run of seven consecutive Super 10s further solidified his status as a star raider in the league.

Season 9 MVP: Arjun Deshwal
In the most recent edition of Pro Kabaddi, Arjun Deshwal stood tall as the MVP with an astounding 296 raid points. Leading Jaipur Pink Panthers to victory in the finals against Puneri Paltan, Arjun showcased extraordinary skill and determination throughout the season.

The Pro Kabaddi League has witnessed numerous MVPs who have left an indelible impact on the game with their extraordinary talent and determination. From seasoned stalwarts like Anup Kumar and Manjeet Chhillar to the record-breaking performances of Pardeep Narwal and Naveen Kumar, these players have added to the league's allure and continue to inspire the next generation of kabaddi stars.