Kabaddi Adda

PKL: Who are the coaches with the most number of wins in PKL history?

When a team wins a game, we usually tend to credit the players, especially, the raiders and in some cases, defenders. 

However, we keep forgetting that everything begins with the coach. He is the real leader of the pack and deserves more credits than he actually receives now. The players are just the face of the coach's brain. He is the one who scripts the plan, comes up with different methods for each team and lets his players know about the strengths and weaknesses of a particular player. They are even behind the success of each and every player in the team. However, we don't really know much about the coaches of PKL teams. 

As the saying goes, it takes a village for everything, and Coaches play an important role in keeping this village together, and it is not an easy task. 

The Pro Kabaddi League is a huge platform, and it has certainly provided opportunities for several player-turned-coaches to take over the reins. In the nine editions so far, six teams have won the title, and the coaches have had a bigger role in all these than we can assume. 

Let us take a deep look at knowing more about the successful coaches in the history of the Pro Kabaddi League, who has taken the team in a more positive direction.

pkl coach

BC Ramesh

BC Ramesh is a well-known name when it comes to the coaching side. He has been successful, not only in Pro Kabaddi League but also in several other Indian tournaments. Since he has been successful, he was awarded Arjuna Award for his contribution. Ramesh has coached multiple Pro Kabaddi Leagues teams and is one of the most-wanted coaches in the history of PKL. He was a part of the Puneri Paltans, Bengaluru Bulls and Bengal Warriors. He won the trophy in the sixth and seventh seasons. 

Manpreet Singh

Manpreet Singh is one of the players-turned-coach in the history of the Pro Kabaddi League. He has represented India for many years, including the 2002 Asia Games, 2006 Asia Games and even in the 2007 World Cup. When the Pro Kabaddi League came into existence, Manpreet Singh went on to play for a few years. He even ended up captaining Patna Pirates in the first edition. After his retirement, he was appointed as the coach of Gujarat in 2017. Though he couldn't win a trophy with them, he was able to take them to the finals twice.

Krishna Kumar Hooda 

Krishna Kumar Hooda is one of the best coaches in India. He was even awarded the Dronacharya Award for his contribution as the coach. In the PKL, Krishna Kumar has won the trophy once. Dabang Delhi is one of the top teams in the history of PKL. They even made it to the playoffs in all the seasons from 6,7 and 8. However, there was something lacking in their performance, as they failed to list the trophy in all three attempts. Krishna Kumar changed things for Delhi, and he eventually made the team to lift the trophy.

Randhir Singh

Randhir Singh needs no introduction at all. He is already a big name in the Indian Kabaddi. He has coached the Indian team, and Railways team and also took over as the head coach of Bengaluru Bulls since the first season. Bengaluru has been a consistent team in the history of PKL. They have even won the trophy once in the 6th season.

Ram Mehar Singh

Ram Mehar Singh is probably the most successful coach in the history of the Pro Kabaddi League. He has won the title twice with Patna Pirates and has taken them to the final in another season. Ram Mehar Singh's insights have definitely helped Patna Pirates to be the team they are now.